Information and Communication Technologies Appeal Tribunal (ICTAT)

Section 39 of the Information and Communication Technologies Act 2001, Section 15 of the Postal Services Act 2002 and Section 58 of the Data Protection Act 2004 provide for a right of appeal before the Information and Communication Technologies Appeal Tribunal known as ICT Appeal Tribunal to any party who feels aggrieved by a decision of the Information and Communication Technologies Authority, the Postal Authority and the Commissioner of the Data Protection Office.


The Information and Communication Tehnologies Appeal Tribunal consists of a Chairperson who is a barrister of not less than 10 years standing appointed by the Public Service Commission. Four other members are appointed by the Minister of Information & Communication Technology after consultation with the Prime Minister for a term of three years and may be eligible for re-appointment. Every appeal shall be lodged within a period of 21 days from the date of notification of the decision to the aggrieved person. But the Tribunal may entertain an appeal after the expiry of the said period of 21 days if it is satisfied that there was sufficient cause for not lodging it within that period.

  • To offer to the general public an opportunity to seek redress, whenever they feel aggrieved by any decision of the three abovementioned institutions.


  • To ensure that these institutions in exercising their duties and powers in a judicious and fair manner and that every appeal before the Tribunal be dealt with as expeditiously as possible.
Contact Us:

Chairman : Mr. Denis Vellien
ICT Appeal Tribunal
1st Floor, Stratton Court,
Poudriere Street,
Port Louis
Tel : 212 3065
Fax : 212 4404